Bitter Edge by Rachel Lynch

Bitter Edge Book Cover

Bitter Edge
DI Kelly Porter #4
Rachel Lynch
General Fiction (Adult) , Mystery & Thrillers
Canelo
25 Feb 2019
NetGalley

Synopsis:

DI Kelly Porter is back, but so is an old foe and this time he won’t back down...

When a teenage girl flings herself off a cliff in pursuit of a gruesome death, DI Kelly Porter is left asking why. Ruled a suicide, there’s no official reason for Kelly to chase answers, but as several of her team’s cases converge on the girl’s school, a new, darker story emerges. One which will bring Kelly face-to-face with an old foe determined to take back what is rightfully his – no matter the cost.

Mired in her pursuit of justice for the growing list of victims, Kelly finds security in Johnny, her family and the father she has only just discovered. But just as she draws close to unearthing the dark truth at the heart of her investigation, a single moment on a cold winter’s night shatters the notion that anything in Kelly’s world can ever truly be safe.

Don't miss this gripping crime thriller featuring a phenomenal detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

Bitter Edge is the 4th installment in the Kelly Porter series, set in Lake District, UK. The main plot is quite dark, with themes of adolescent drug use, bullying and sexual assault taking the centre stage. Running parallel to this is also Kelly’s personal narrative, which brings some very needed cheer.

A clever mystery with several twists and turns. I found the novel initially difficult to grab hold of as it is all over the place. Slow start but clever intertwining of threads in the end.

 3,155 total views

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 1 Average: 4]

Most books reviewed on this site I've received free through netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.